Processing 'pour l'art'!

Reprint from my UI Design Blinks, originally published on the SAP Design Guild Website, now on walodesign.de

In a number of UI Design Blinks published last year (2011), I reported on my experiments with Processing, a Java-based programming language for designers. At that time, I had used it to create chart types that were not available in Microsoft Excel or, as I found out in the course of my experiments, would have been available if I had rearranged the data appropriately. This time, I would like to report on another type of experiment, namely "re-creating" computer art. My story goes like this.

Yesterday, I attended the vernissage of a new art exhibition in the SAP training center. The new exhibition features Vera Molnar, a pioneer in digital or computer art. Born in Hungary in 1924, she moved to Paris in the late 1940s and later became a lecturer at the Sorbonne University. Molnar started her pioneering work in the late 1960s, initially using her brain as a "simulated computer" (machine imaginaire) to execute algorithms that she had developed. Since 1968 she has been using real computers and plotters. Regrettably, due to her advanced years, Vera Molnar was unable to take part in the vernissage. The exhibition presents a number of prototypical works of Molnar's, including variations on the magic square (a square of 4x4 cells that is filled with numbers that add up to 34 in each direction – which maybe explains why some models of the VW Beetle had 34 horsepower...) (see Figure 2). These were inspired by an etching by Albrecht Dürer (see Figure 1), a well-known German artist from the Middle Ages. Molnar's work is based on the subtle balance between the principles of order and chance (or disorder). Another of her principles is the systematic variation of certain parameters, such as the form or degree of randomness. I will reveal one more of her principles at the end of this blink.

Dürer's magic square      Molnar's variations of the magic square

Figures 1-2: Albrecht Dürer's magic square, in which vertical, horizontal, and diagonal cells add up to 34 (left); some of Molnar's variations of the magic square created with threads and nails (right). Click images for larger versions.

My niece accompanied us to the vernissage and, while studying the various works, we engaged in the typical discussions about abstract art: "Could one create such a work on one's own?", and: "Is it really art?" When we encountered the following works (see Figure 3), I decided that I would at least try and see whether I could "re-create" their spirit:

Digital art by Vera Molnar

Figure 3: Digital art by Vera Molnar – two variations of the same random pattern (click image for larger version)

Back home, I switched on my laptop and started Processing. Luckily, I still had the programs that I had used the previous year to create bubble charts. I decided that a program of this kind would be a good starting point for my attempts. To cut a long story short: After about an hour (and a major struggle with the programming language – due to my lack of familiarity with it), I ended up with the following results (see Figures 4 and 5):

Re-created digital art      Re-created digital art - variation

Figures 4-5: Digital "art" inspired by Vera Molnar – two variations of the same random pattern programmed with Processing (click images for larger versions)

I presented the results to my niece and my wife, and both agreed that I had successfully captured the "spirit" of Molnar's original work, including the visual perceptual effects that the "egg" version, in particular, elicited. Finally though, one question remains: Did I produce art? Of course, I didn't! And I say this for several reasons. Firstly, it was not an original idea of my own that I had implemented and, secondly, it was more or less my first (and last) attempt at this endeavor. Vera Molnar, on the other hand, creates myriads of variations on one idea and only selects the ones that really look "interesting" to her. And this leads me to the above-mentioned additional principle, namely "selection". Order is provided by arranging the "eggs" regularly in a grid; random variation refers to the random orientation of the "eggs"; systematic variation of parameters creates a huge space of results to select from and, finally, selection decides what is art and what isn't.

By the way: As my example demonstrates, it is much easier to copy or even fake digital art than traditional art...

 

References

 

An den Anfang   Homepage  

gerd (at) waloszek (dot) de

About me
made by walodesign on a mac!
25.01.2019
Imprint |

Processing 'pour l'art'!

Nachdruck meines UI Design Blinks, ursprünglich auf der SAP Design Guild veröffentlicht, nun auf walodesign.de; aus dem Englischen mehr oder weniger frei übertragen (mit Hilfe von deepl.com)

In einer Reihe von im vergangenen Jahr (2011) veröffentlichten UI Design Blinks berichtete ich über meine Experimente mit Processing, einer Java-basierten Programmiersprache für Designer. Damals hatte ich damit Diagrammtypen erstellt, die in Microsoft Excel nicht verfügbar waren oder, wie ich im Laufe meiner Experimente herausgefunden habe, verfügbar gewesen wären, wenn ich die Daten entsprechend neu angeordnet hätte. Diesmal möchte ich über eine andere Art von Experiment berichten, nämlich die "Neuerschaffung" der Computerkunst. Meine Geschichte geht fogendermaßen weiter.

Gestern habe ich an der Vernissage einer neuen Kunstausstellung im SAP Training Center teilgenommen. Die neue Ausstellung zeigt Vera Molnar, eine Pionierin der digitalen oder Computerkunst. Die 1924 in Ungarn geborene Künstlerin zog Ende der 1940er Jahre nach Paris und wurde später Dozentin an der Sorbonne. Molnar begann ihre Pionierarbeit in den späten 1960er Jahren, indem sie zunächst ihr Gehirn als "simulierten Computer" (Machine Imaginaire) nutzte, um von ihr entwickelte Algorithmen auszuführen. Seit 1968 benutzt sie echte Computer und Plotter. Leider konnte Vera Molnar aufgrund ihrea fortgeschrittenen Alters nicht an der Vernissage teilnehmen. Die Ausstellung präsentiert eine Reihe prototypischer Arbeiten von Molnar, darunter Variationen des magischen Quadrats (ein Quadrat aus 4 x 4 Zellen, das mit Zahlen gefüllt ist, die sich in jede Richtung zu 34 summieren - was vielleicht erklärt, warum einige Modelle des VW-Käfers 34 PS hatten...) (siehe Abbildung 2). Diese wurden durch eine Radierung von Albrecht Dürer (siehe Abbildung 1), einem bekannten deutschen Künstler aus dem Mittelalter, inspiriert. Molnars Arbeit basiert auf dem subtilen Gleichgewicht zwischen den Prinzipien von Ordnung und Zufall (oder Unordnung). Ein weiteres ihrer Prinzipien ist die systematische Variation bestimmter Parameter, wie z.B. die Form oder der Grad der Zufälligkeit. Ich werde am Ende dieses Artikel noch ein weiteres ihrer Prinzipien offenbaren.

Dürer's magic square      Molnar's variations of the magic square

Abbildungen 1-2: Albrecht Dürers magisches Quadrat, in dem sich vertikale, horizontale und diagonale Zellen zu 34 summieren (links); einige von Molnars Variationen des magischen Quadrats, das aus Fäden und Nägeln besteht (rechts). Klicken Sie auf die Bilder, um eine größere Version anzuzeigen.

Meine Nichte begleitete uns zur Vernissage, und während wir die verschiedenen Werke studierten, nahmen wir an den typischen Diskussionen über abstrakte Kunst teil: "Könnte man ein solches Werk allein schaffen?", und: "Ist das wirklich Kunst?" Als wir auf die folgenden Arbeiten trafen (siehe Abbildung 3), beschloss ich, zumindest zu versuchen ihren Geist "wiedererstehen" zu lassen:

Digital art by Vera Molnar

Figure 3: Digitale Kunstwerke von Vera Molnar – zwei Variationen desselben Zufallsmusters (klicken Sie auf die Bilder, um eine größere Version anzuzeigen)

Zu Hause schaltete ich meinen Laptop ein und startete Processing. Zum Glück hatte ich noch die Programme, mit denen ich im Vorjahr Blasendiagramme erstellt hatte, auf dem Computer. Ich entschied, dass ein solches Programm ein guter Ausgangspunkt für meine Versuche sein würde. Um es kurz zu machen: Nach etwa einer Stunde (und einem großen Kampf mit der Programmiersprache - wegen meiner mangelnden Vertrautheit damit) kam ich zu folgenden Ergebnissen (siehe Abbildungen 4 und 5):

Re-created digital art      Re-created digital art - variation

Figures 4-5: Digitale "Kunstwerke" inspiriert von Vera Molnar – zwei Variationen desselben Zufallsmusters programmiert mit Processing (klicken Sie auf die Bilder, um eine größere Version anzuzeigen)

Ich präsentierte die Ergebnisse meiner Nichte und meiner Frau, und beide waren sich einig, dass ich den "Geist" von Molnars Originalwerk erfolgreich eingefangen hatte, einschließlich der visuellen Wahrnehmungseffekte, die insbesondere die "Ei"-Version hervorrief. Schließlich bleibt aber noch eine Frage: Habe ich Kunst produziert? Natürlich habe ich das nicht! Und ich sage das aus mehreren Gründen. Erstens war es keine eigene Idee, die ich umgesetzt hatte, und zweitens war es mehr oder weniger mein erster (und letzter) Versuch, dieses Vorhaben zu realisieren. Vera Molnar hingegen kreiert unzählige Variationen einer Idee und wählt nur die aus, die für sie wirklich "interessant" erscheinen. Und das führt mich zu dem oben genannten zusätzlichen Prinzip, nämlich dem der "Selektion". Ordnung wird geschaffen, indem die "Eier" regelmäßig in einem Raster angeordnet werden; die Zufallsvariation bezieht sich auf die zufällige Ausrichtung der "Eier"; die systematische Variation der Parameter schafft einen riesigen Ergbnisraum, aus dem ausgewählt werden kann, und schließlich entscheidet die Auswahl, was Kunst ist und was nicht.

Übrigens: Wie mein Beispiel zeigt, ist es viel einfacher, digitale Kunst zu kopieren oder sogar zu fälschen als traditionelle Kunst...

 

Links

 

An den Anfang   Homepage  

gerd (at) waloszek (dot) de

Über mich
made by walodesign on a mac!
25.01.2019